Who will take Skater of The Year 2014

It’s December and for those in the skate community that means it is time to crown Thrasher’s Skater of The Year (SOTY)! Results will air December 13th, 2014 on thrashermagazine.com

This year’s contenders are:

1. Bobby Worrest

2. Nyjah Huston

3. Ishod Wair

4. Wes Kremer

5. Louie Barletta

6. Torey Pudwill

7. Brandon Westgate

8. Cory Kennedy

I have my guesses (and hopes) on who will take the title, all these men have been nominated for a reason but for me personally some stand out more than others.

Nyjah Huston was everywhere this year, we can’t get enough of Nyjah and for the way he shreds at only 19, it makes total sense. He was nominated for SOTY 2013, and performed to be nominated again. He took gold at X-Games Austin in the street compeition, 1st at Tampa Pro, 1st at Street League Skating in Chicago, LA and the World Championship in New Jersey. No wonder he was nominated again this year, but will he actually take the title this year? Ishod Wair was crowned SOTY 2013 and didn’t slow up after the win, he made it clear with his part in SOTY Naawwsty, I’m anxious to see if he’ll take the title twice. Someone else who stands out for me is Westgate, who still brought his a-game even after a spine injury earlier this year. He shows his skill post injury in Zoo England

My hope is Torey Pudwill takes it because he just blows me away (too see what I mean check out Supernova). I saw him dudring the street compeition at X-Games Austin in June 2014, and he is sick. He skates hard with control, its obvious that I have a biasis for him to win.

Check out the profiles on Thrasher‘s website and leave us a comment on who you think should take the title this year.

Leave a comment